Kodagu Arebhashe Gowdas – A Ethnic Group

Maxim: “10 Kutumba – 18 Gotra”
Language: Are Bhashe (No separate script)
Religion: Hinduism

Arebhase Gowdas is a major ethnic group in Kodagu and parts of Dakshina Kannada district and has significant populations in Mysore, Mangalore and Bangalore. Arebhase Gowdas also called ‘Kodagu Gowdas’ and ‘Aregowda’. Sullia is the origin place of Arebhashe Gowdas which was part of Kodagu during Haleri dynasty rule. The group consists of hundreds of families locally called ‘Mane’ each family has the separate name and each family has the main home called ‘Doddamane’ where family members gather in the traditional and ritual occasions.

The population of the community is around 400,000 in South Canara and Kodagu, they are passionate about hunting, playing and revelry, and celebrate festivals like Puthari, Kaveri Sankramana, Kailpoldu and other local festivals.

Arebhashe Gowdas are landowners and planters, and they grow coffee, pepper and ginger as their cash crop, apart from cash crop vegetables and other spices are grown for their own consumptions and even for sale. Agriculture is not only the income source of the ethnic group but they have private business and Jobs in government and private sectors and many notable peoples in various sectors.

Flag and Logo

Dakshina Kannada rebelled against the British and Kalyanaswamy’s flag used during the Sullia rebellion it was hoisted by Guddera Appaiah in 1837, the symbol in the Flag is used as a logo of Arebhashe Gowdas.

Notable Peoples

  • Shri. Nidyamale Somana: Member, First Lok Sabha (1952–1957)
  • Dr. Kurunji Venkataramana Gowda: Founder and President of AOLE
  • Dr. K V Chidananda Gowda: Former Vice Chancellor, Kuvempu University and NASA Scientist
  • Dr.Purushothama Bilimale: Director of American Institute of Indian Studies (October 2009)

Freedom fighters

  • Guddemane Appaiah: Freedom fighter from Kodagu (1834 to1837)
  • Kedambadi Rama Gowda: Freedom fighter, who fought against British Rule during 1835-1839.


  • V. Sadananda Gowda: Former 26th Chief Minister of Karnataka and Central Railway Minister, ex-BJP President Karnataka State Unit.
  • Shobha Karandlaje: BJP Leader and Minister, Government of Karnataka.
  • K.G. Bopaiah: (Speaker of Legislative Assembly and Virajpet MLA)
Close Menu